University of Cape Coast, located in Cape Coast, Ghana, is a premier institution of higher learning renowned for its quality education and innovative teaching methods.

With a student population of over 30,000, the university offers a wide range of courses across multiple faculties and departments, catering to the diverse needs and aspirations of its students.

Faculties and Departments at University of Cape Coast

The University of Cape Coast has eight faculties, each with multiple departments offering a wide range of courses. The faculties and departments at the University of Cape Coast are:

  1. Faculty of Arts
    • Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies
    • Department of Economics and Political Science
    • Department of English and Linguistics
    • Department of French
    • Department of History
    • Department of Music
    • Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
    • Department of Theatre Arts
  2. Faculty of Education
    • Department of Basic Education
    • Department of Early Childhood Education
    • Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
    • Department of Human Kinetics and Health Education
    • Department of Science and Mathematics Education
    • Department of Social Science Education
    • Department of Technical and Vocational Education
    • Department of Teacher Education
  3. Faculty of Engineering Sciences
    • Department of Chemical Engineering
    • Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
    • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
    • Department of Mechanical Engineering
    • Department of Petroleum Engineering
  4. Faculty of Law
    • Department of Law
    • Department of Criminology and Security Studies
  5. Faculty of Management and Administration
    • Department of Accounting and Finance
    • Department of Entrepreneurship and Management Studies
    • Department of Human Resource Management
    • Department of Marketing and Customer Management
    • Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management
  6. Faculty of Science
    • Department of Biological Sciences
    • Department of Chemistry
    • Department of Computer Science
    • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
    • Department of Physics
  7. Faculty of Social Sciences
    • Department of Geography and Regional Planning
    • Department of Political Science
    • Department of Psychology
    • Department of Sociology and Social Work
    • Department of Economics and Development Studies
  8. School of Graduate Studies
    • M.Ed, PhD in Education
    • M.Sc, PhD in Environmental Science
    • M.Sc, PhD in Information Technology
    • M.Phil, PhD in Linguistics
    • M.A, PhD in Philosophy
    • M.Sc, PhD in Physics

Popular Programs and Courses at University of Cape Coast

With such a wide range of faculties and departments, the University of Cape Coast offers a diverse range of programs and courses to meet the needs of its students. Some of the popular programs and courses offered by the university include:

  1. Bachelor of Education (B.Ed)
  2. Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.Sc. Nursing)
  3. Bachelor of Law (LLB)
  4. Bachelor of Arts (BA)
  5. Bachelor of Science (BSc)
  6. Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  7. Bachelor of Fine Arts



Mensah courage is a professional teacher and co-founder of Together with team, we serve our readers with accurate information about the Ghananian education space and more. Follow me on all social media platforms